Federal Housing

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) enforces the Federal Housing Act, which prohibits discrimination and provides protection for people with disabilities and for families with children. It applies to housing with four or more units. Such buildings must have public and common areas accessible to people with disabilities. At least the ground floor units must be accessible and must meet specific construction requirements. The FHA is essentially a residential version of the ADA.

The three model code organizations recognize the One and Two Family Dwelling Code (OTFDC). This is not a federal regulation, but has been adopted by many jurisdictions in the United States. The OTFDC is the main code used for construction of single and duplex family residences.



Was this article helpful?

0 0
Solar Power

Solar Power

Start Saving On Your Electricity Bills Using The Power of the Sun And Other Natural Resources!

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment